Other Voices – Change Agent Award

What is the Change Agent Award?

The Change Agent Award is awarded annually and designed to recognize and reward outstanding leadership in Greensboro, primarily focused on the commitment to diversity. This prestigious award is presented to Other Voices alumni, Chamber members and others from the community at large who demonstrate exemplary leadership, positively affecting the cultural diversity and inclusiveness of the citizens and community of Greensboro. The award is not based on the recipient’s views, position, organization or the environment within which the recipients demonstrate outstanding leadership.

We seek candidates who are servant leaders, who serve out of a personal mission, who are inclusive, who are process facilitators, who empower others, who understand and use the power of vision, and who are change agents. Candidates must exhibit exemplary community leadership achievement.

2020 Change Agent Award Form

Past recipients

Randy Abbott – S.A.F.E. Project
Wayne Abraham – Human Relations Commission
Barbara “B” Akins – Cone Health
Kenneth Alston – Founding Member of Other Voices
American Express
Daniel Andrews – American Express
Margaret Arbuckle – Founding Member of Other Voices
Carl Ashby – Founding Member of Other Voices
Raleigh Bailey – UNCG – Center for New North Carolinians
Timothy Bellamy, Chief of Police – City of Greensboro
Jehan Benton – Family Service of the Piedmont
Thomas Berry – Founding Member of Other Voices
Lynn Black – Founding Member of Other Voices
Richard Bowling – Freeman Mill Square
Richard Bowling – Founding Member of Other Voices
Claudette Burroughs-White – Former Greensboro City Council Member
Charles Byrd – Founding Member of Other Voices
Charles T. Byrd – Community Volunteer
Ivan Canada – Quaintance Weaver Restaurants and Hotels
Gerry Chapman – Chapman Law Firm
City of Greensboro
George Clopton – Ralph Lauren Corporation
Nettie Coad – Community Volunteer
Clyde Cook – Founding Member of Other Voices
Barry L. Davis – Greensboro Day School
Ann Marie Dooley – McKinney Immigration
Linda Evans – Greensboro Historical Museum
Jeanine Falcon – Replacements, Ltd.
Angela Fitzgerald – African American Atelier Gallery
Hughlene Frank – Founding Member of Other Voices
Mark C. Hale – Greensboro Day School
Betsy Harrington – National Conference for Community & Justice
Jessie Howard – Community Volunteer
FaithAction International House
Addy Jeffrey – Center for New North Carolinians
Paul Jeffrey – Cone Health
Mary H. Kendrick – MHK & Associates, Inc.
Doug Key – Lorillard
Wendy Lavine – Greensboro Day School
Sabrena Lea – North Carolina DHHS Office of Long Term Services & Supports
Replacements Ltd.
Denise E. Maleska – Community Volunteer
Mary Mims – Founding Member of Other Voices
Ralph Mitchell – Founding Member of Other Voices
Antonia Monk Richburg – Cone Health Foundation
National Conference for Community and Justice (NCCJ)
Yamile Nazar – City of Greensboro
Gary Palmer – Replacements Limited
Amelia Parker – International Civil Rights Center & Museum (ICRCM)
Reverend Julie Peeples – Congregational United Church of Christ
Marian Phillips – Founding Member of Other Voices
Paula Pile – Paula Pile Psychological Consulting
Ralph Lauren Corporation
Jack Register – Jack Register & Associates
Liz Reinecke – Founding Member of Other Voices
Fredd Reyes – Sagastome
Professor Jerono Rotich – N. C. A&T State University
Charles Saunders – Founding Member of Other Voices
John Shaw – Founding Member of Other Voices
Mark Sills – FaithAction International House
Steve Sumerford – Greensboro Public Library
Dr. Whitney G. Vanderwerff – National Alliance for Nonviolent Programming (NANP)
Barbara Walker – YWCA of Greensboro
Terri Wallace – City of Greensboro
Patrick Williams – Ralph Lauren Corporation
Otis Wilson – Mt. Zion Baptist Church
David A. Wray, Chief of Police – City of Greensboro

Circle of Champions


We know and grow Greensboro.